Stonewall and Julie Bindal Upset Trans Community

I am late with this one, I know.

I met Ruth whilst coming back from Bicester Village, where I was interviewing men about shopping. Ruth is part of the Trans Community,  and was on her way to a demonstration march in London against Stonewalls decision to nominate Julie Bindal for an award.

I certainly learned a lot interviewing Ruth, when it comes to issues and definitions of gender and sexuality,  it is a complicated affair it seems.

I really must find out how the march went and if Julie Bindal, did indeed win.

Ruth Pearce

One response to “Stonewall and Julie Bindal Upset Trans Community

  1. You’re not that late. I only just blogged about it in the past day or so. I think there were about 150 of us at the demo in total.
    Ruth’s blogged about it:
    http://swarmingness.livejournal.com/218493.html

    She didn’t win, btw. Although she did write an article within the following two days saying that (despite being a journalist) she just wanted to be left alone…
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2008/nov/08/lesbianism

Leave a Reply

